Uganda Hockey Association (UHA) ,former general secretary Philip Wafula, retains the presidency sit for Uganda Hockey Association after defeating the former president Dhamuzungu Lydia Sanyu.

“Lydia has done well but we now need a strategic focus in everything that we do”, Wafula said while addressing the media at Lugogo yesterday saturday after being elected.

” We are going to focus on three things, unity,focus and growth, I want to close the gap between the club and the federation for the development of the game. In terms of growth hockey is based in central region that limits us more talents, and limits more chances to the players to play on the national team”,Wafula stated.

“We have three tournaments ,Easter cup, X-mas cup and the league and in my regime I want to increase on the tournaments and to take hockey in the schools, and to increase on clubs in the national league thorough club formation and reduction in fees paid by the club”, Wabula added.

Despite the botched trip to the Africa Olympic qualifiers in 2019 in South Africa,Dhamuzungu who has led the association since 2017-will take credit for reviving national teams after they were disbanded in 2011.

The national team had progressed to the qualifiers after being declared winners of the president’s cup by Africa Hockey Federation as their opponents had not turned for the tournament in Kampala.

Uganda also last month they automatically qualified for the Africa cup due January 2022 in Ghana after some opponents failed to confirm participation on the qualifiers.

Full list of the Uganda Hockey Association elected members.

Philip Wafula- President

Joshua Opolot-Vice president

Stanley Tamale – General secretary

Tamale Kenneth -Treasure

Richard Ssemwogerere- Organising secretary

Saddam Hussein-Publicity secretary

Committee members.

Okello Martin

Bridget Beinne

Innocent Lasikala.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *